From Kenya to Dubai. From Lockdown to the Special Olympics?

Aarti (26y) was born in Nairobi, Kenya and we moved to Dubai when she was about 6 years old.

She had adapted really well to lockdown and social distancing although she can’t wait until things go back to normal!

Prior to lockdown she’d always had a very busy social calendar as well as a part-time job as a Marketing Assistant in the ready-to-wear division of a prominent company representing international brands, a job she loves and gets remunerated for. She really gets along with her mainstream colleagues and they are the ones she misses the most, together with her friends and relatives, although she keeps in touch with them regularly.

We explained to Aarti about the 3 keywords: Virus, Social Distancing and Lockdown. She gets it and doesn’t mind too much as her calendar is still fuller than mine: art sessions through Zoom with her art club 3 times a week, Bollywood dancing one hour in the morning and 1 hour in the afternoon, she took a keen interest in table-setting and napkin-folding and is really good at it too; we cook, we play board games we exercise together but she will also go for a bike ride around the block, she enjoys tie & dye too. Her favourite activities are probably Aerial yoga and weightlifting! She actually started weightlifting about 5 months ago and her trainer noticed she was quite a natural at it and suggested she should start training seriously to qualify for the Special Olympics! So, she does that 3 times a week for one hour.

As you can see, Aarti is not one to get depressed, she goes with the flow and always makes the most of it. She just hopes to be able to get back to work as soon as possible!


You can follow Aarti here:


For more information or support –
Twitter – @ChromosomesNews
Insta –

Start typing and press Enter to search